24 august 10:00 Society Argentina, Egypt, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and UAE to join BRICS




Argentina, Egypt, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and UAE to join BRICS

This was announced by South African President Cyril Ramaphosa

Full membership of the new countries in the organisation will begin on 1 January 2024.

The leaders of the BRICS countries approved the final declaration of the 15th summit of the association, it was called “Johannesburg-2”, as reported by South African President Cyril Ramaphosa.

The BRICS business forum was attended by 1 500 people, investments and cooperation between South Africa, African countries and members of the association were discussed.

“As five BRICS countries we have reached agreement on the guiding principles, standards, criteria and procedures of the BRICS expansion process which has been in discussion for quite a while. We have consensus on the first phase of this expansion process and other fases will follow. We have decided to invite the Argentine Republic, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates,” said Ramaphosa.

Putin congratulated the new partners in the bloc, who will begin full-scale of cooperation next year.

“I would like to assure our colleagues that we will continue the work that we have started today to expand the influence of BRICS in the world. I mean the establishment of practical work with new members of the organisation and those who will work in the BRICS+ format, with our partners, who in one way or another pay attention to cooperation in our organisation and would like to work with us together,” said Putin.

Photo: screenshot of the live broadcast of the BRICS summit





Share your love