African Union becomes a full member of G20



African Union becomes a full member of G20

The Indian Foreign Ministry has already called this decision the main result of the summit

On Saturday, 9 September, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in his opening remarks at the G20 summit in New Delhi, expressed condolences over the loss of lives in the earthquake in Morocco:”Before we begin the G20, I want to express my condolences on the loss of lives in the Morocco earthquake. We pray for speedy recovery of all those affected. India stands ready to extend all possible assistance to Morocco at this difficult time.” The country was hit by an earthquake measuring 6.9 on the Richter scale, with 632 people falling victim to the disaster.

Expressing deep sorrow for the victims and survivors of the Morocco earthquake, Modi recalled that India, during its G20 presidency, had always favoured inclusion of the Global South, mainly African nations, in the voting bloc.

The Prime Minister formally invited the African Union to become a permanent member of the G20.

“India has offered to give the African Union permanent membership of the G20. I believe we all agree to this proposal”

Narendra Modi Prime Minister of India

Modi also invited African Union (AU) chairperson Azali Assoumani to take her seat as a G20 member.

Inclusion of the African Union in the G20 was one of India’s key priorities at the G20 summit under its chairmanship. The proposal to include the African Union in the G20 was put forward by the Indian Prime Minister in June this year. The Indian Foreign Ministry has already termed the decision as the main outcome of the summit.

In addition, the Indian Prime Minister called for unity to better confront contemporary challenges and address the lack of trust that now exists in the world as a result of the health crisis caused by the pandemic.

He also called for focus on food, fuel and fertiliser management, counter-terrorism and cyber security, and health, energy and water security.

India, while leading the G20, has prioritised managing people’s development to ensure results for the benefit of all, hence, the head of state emphasised, the South Asian country’s chairmanship of the bloc has become a symbol of inclusiveness.

“Over 200 meetings (during India’s G20 presidency) were held in more than 60 cities across the country,” noted Modi.

The 18th G20 summit is being attended by over 30 heads of state and top officials from the European Union and invited countries, as well as 14 heads of international organisations, as reported by ANI, a partner of TV BRICS.

India is hosting the G20 leaders’ summit in the capital at the newly inaugurated Bharat Mandapam Hall on 9-10 September.

It may be recalled that the country assumed the G20 presidency on 1 December last year. This is the first time that the G20 summit is being chaired by India.

Photo: flickr.comTV BRICS




Share your love