Alberto Fernandez: BRICS is a new opportunity for Argentina



Alberto Fernandez: BRICS is a new opportunity for Argentina

The country has become one of the new members of BRICS⁠

Argentine President Alberto Fernandez announced to his compatriots that Argentina has been accepted as one of the new members of BRICS, an economic cooperation group that includes Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

“BRICS serves as a necessary political and economic platform. We want to be part of the BRICS because the challenging global context lends the bloc unique relevance, positioning it as a significant geopolitical and financial reference”

Alberto Fernandez President of Argentina

“Being part of BRICS means joining a bloc that currently accounts for 24 per cent of global production,” he said, adding that Argentina’s inclusion in BRICS reaffirms the country’s commitment to integration.

“We are going to play an important role in our common destiny. We continue to strengthen our fruitful relations with other countries. Argentina has been, is and will continue to be an integrating country. The pursuit of integration is a national policy,” said the Argentine president.

Fernandez emphasised that the authorities want to use this opportunity for the benefit of Argentines and, first of all, those who need it most.

The head of state recalled that Argentina officially applied to join BRICS in 2022, during the presidency of Chinese leader Xi Jinping in this economic cooperation group, as reported by
teleSUR, a partner of TV BRICS.

“BRICS plays a crucial role in shaping the global financial architecture in a scenario characterised by a crisis in the multilateral system and a slowdown in the global economy,” he concluded.

On 24 August 2023, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced that Argentina, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Egypt and the UAE have been invited to join BRICS as full members. They are expected to join from 1 January 2024.





Share your love