Presidential elections start in Iran



Presidential elections start in Iran

Around 60,000 polling stations have been set up for Friday’s presidential elections

Polling stations for Iran’s presidential election opened across the country at 08:00 local time (GMT+3:30). Voting will take place until 18:00, but can be extended if it is necessary. 

Speaking to a large number of reporters after casting his ballot at a polling station set up in Tehran Seyyed Ali Khamenei, the Leader of the Islamic Revolution urged Iranians to turn out to vote as a “definite necessity” for their country. This is reported by
Mehr News Agency, a partner of TV BRICS.

“In the essence of this system, the presence of the people is taken into account. Also, the durability of the Islamic Republic and its honour and reputation in the world depend on the presence of the people”

Seyyed Ali Khamenei Leader of the Islamic Revolution

Iranians choose between four candidates.

Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, is the speaker of Iran’s Majlis (parliament) since 2020 and former mayor of Tehran (2005-2017). He has run for president three times – in 2005, 2013 and 2017.

Saeed Jalili is Ayatollah Khamenei’s representative on the Supreme National Security Council since 2007 as well as a member of the Political Expediency Determination Council. He has run for president twice, in 2013 and 2021.

Mostafa Pourmohammadi – Former Minister of Interior Affairs (2005-2008). He ran in the 2013 presidential election.

Masoud Pezeshkian – from 2016 to 2020 served as the First Deputy Speaker. He is also a former Minister of Health (2001-2005).

The presidential elections, scheduled for June 28, come under extraordinary circumstances following the tragic
death of President Ebrahim Raisi and his entourage in a helicopter crash on May 19. 

Photo: Mehr News Agency




Share your love