Vladimir Putin announces that 30 countries are ready to join BRICS

Russia assumed the BRICS chairmanship on 1 January 2024. In his address published on the
Kremlin website, Russian President Vladimir Putin emphasised that the association is attracting more like-minded people.

“We will take into account the readiness of many other countries, and there are about three dozen of them, to join BRICS in one form or another, to its multifaceted agenda. For this purpose, we will actively work out the modalities of a new category of BRICS partner states”

Vladimir Putin President of the Russian Federation

The motto of Russia’s BRICS Chairmanship in 2024 is “Strengthening Multilateralism for Equitable Global Development and Security”.

Vladimir Putin outlined the priorities of Russia’s presidency in the association.

“Among the priorities is further promotion of cooperation in science, high technology, healthcare, ecology, as well as in culture, sports, youth exchanges and through civil society,” the Russian head of state said.

“We will contribute to the practical implementation of the BRICS Economic Partnership Strategy 2025 and the Action Plan for Innovative Cooperation 2021-2024, ensuring energy and food security, enhancing the role of BRICS in the international monetary and financial system, developing interbank cooperation and expanding the use of national currencies in mutual trade,” Putin said.

He also stressed that more than 200 events are planned within the framework of Russia’s BRICS presidency and invited representatives of all countries interested in cooperation with BRICS to participate in the BRICS summit to be held in Kazan in October 2024.

Following the XV BRICS Summit, six countries, namely Argentina, Egypt, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and United Arab Emirates were invited to join BRICS.

From 1 January 2024, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Egypt became full members of the association.

Argentine President Javier Milei has officially notified BRICS members that his country will not join the alliance.




Share your love