!!! Note that the contents of this page is PAID FOR content by the respective Embassy. It does not neccessarily reflect the views of DepiMedia­™!!!


Azerbaijan is a transcontinental country located at the boundary of Eastern Europe and West Asia. It is a part of the South Caucasus region and is bounded by the Caspian Sea to the east, Russia to the north, Georgia to the northwest, Armenia and Türkiye to the west, and Iran to the south. Baku is the capital and largest city.
Azerbaijan – a secular nation with a majority-Turkic and majority-Muslim population – was briefly independent (from 1918 to 1920) following the collapse of the Russian Empire; it was subsequently incorporated into the Soviet Union for seven decades. In 1991, Azerbaijan restored its independence and became a sovereign state.

Capital: Baku

Currency: Manat

Official language: Azerbaijani

Continent: Transcontinental country (Eurasia)

Government: Presidential Republic. The state of Azerbaijan is a democratic, law-governed, secular, unitary republic.

Head of State: President Ilham Aliyev

Head of Government: Prime Minister Ali Asadov

Population: 10,127,000 (2021) World Bank

Postal Address: PO Box 56014, Hatfield, 0083
Street Address: 302 Albert Street, Waterkloof, PRETORIA.
Phone: 012 346 1018 / 012 346 0829

Video Messages from the Head of Mission

Share your love