UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Brazil



UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Brazil

In this article, you will learn about the main cultural and natural sites in Brazil

Brazil is an extremely rich country, both in terms of nature and culture. From grandiose colonial architecture to the best of modern architecture, Brazil will not leave you indifferent.

In an exclusive interview with TV BRICS, Timofey Bashlykov, PhD in Sociology, Associate Professor of the Department of Management and General Humanities at the Lipetsk branch of the Financial University under the Government of the Russian Federation, spoke about Brazil’s cultural heritage sites on the UNESCO list.

Cultural heritage is monuments, ensembles of buildings and archaeological sites that are important for preserving the memory, identity and creativity of peoples and the richness of cultures.

“Brazil is currently home to 21 UNESCO World Heritage sites. Of these: 14 cultural and seven natural,” said Timofey.

Cais do Valongo

The Valongo Wharf is an architectructural and archaeological monument located in Rio de Janeiro. It was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2017 and is a testament to the history of the slave trade in Brazil.

According to the expert, the Valongo wharf was the main port of entry for slaves into Brazil between 1811 and 1843. Millions of African slaves were brought here and landed on this waterfront, where they were auctioned off to work on plantations and in the cities.

“The archaeological finds in this area are of particular interest. During the restoration in 2011, the remains of the wharf, the road and foundations of buildings were discovered, as well as various items related to the slave trade. These archaeological findings have helped to reconstruct the history of the slave trade in Brazil and show its darker aspects. Valongo Wharf has come to symbolise the historic struggle for equality and respect for human rights. Visiting it allows us to understand the tragedy of the slave trade and trace its impact on modern society,” said Timofey Bashlykov.


The Pantanal is a protected area located in southern Brazil and part of Bolivia and Paraguay. It is a unique ecosystem known for its diverse flora and fauna, including rare species such as jaguar and anaconda. Pantanal is recognised as a UNESCO International Biosphere Reserve.

A variety of ecosystems can be observed in the Pantanal, including wetlands, forests, rivers and lakes. It is home to over 4,700 species of plants and animals, including birds, fish, reptiles and mammals.

“The Pantanal Protected Area plays an important role in conserving biodiversity and supporting local fisheries, especially fisheries and ecotourism,” said the expert.

Ouro Preto

The historic city of Ouro Preto is located in the state of Minas Gerais in Brazil and is one of the historically significant and aesthetically pleasing former colonial centres of the country. It was founded in the early 18th century during the gold rush, when rich gold deposits were discovered in the neighbourhood.

In 1980, the historic city of Ouro Preto was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List for its colonial architecture and historical and cultural significance. Here you can see a unique architectural ensemble built in the Baroque style, including churches, monasteries and administrative buildings.

Iguazu National Park

Iguaçu National Park has unrivalled ecological value and natural beauty. Its recognition by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site is due to the importance of the remnants of the Atlantic Forest and the impressive set of waterfalls that form Iguaçu Falls. It is one of the most visited tourist sites in the country.

Historic Centre of Salvador

One of the most striking examples of Portuguese urban development abroad is in the historic centre of Salvador. It is an architectural, landscape and town-planning complex formed by unique buildings of the XVI-XIX centuries, in which monumental religious and civil architecture stands out. The historic centre of the capital of Bahia State was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1985. Here are the public spaces that make up one of the richest urban complexes of Portuguese origin: the Municipal Square, Terreiro de Jesus, Caminho de Sao Francisco, Largo do Pelourinho, Largo de Santo Antonio and Largo do Boqueirao, connected by colourful streets, hillsides and alleys.

Rio de Janeiro Landscape

Rio de Janeiro, arguably the most famous city in South America, has been inspiring artists for decades. It is located between the sea and the mountains and is the second most populous city in Brazil. In addition to its impressive architecture, Rio boasts the picturesque Copacabana Bay and the mountains of Tijuca National Park. In addition to these sites, UNESCO heritage sites include the Botanical Gardens, Corcovado Mountain with the Christ the Redeemer sculpture and the hills around Guanabara Bay. These sites were inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2012 and cover an area of 7,248.78 hectares.

World Heritage Sites located in several Brazilian states were included on the list for their uniqueness and importance to world culture.

Photo: IStockFlickr




Share your love